March 28, 2019 Comments Off on B.A.A. Teams Win Titles at the New Bedford Half Marathon Featured, News

B.A.A. Teams Win Titles at the New Bedford Half Marathon

Brad Mish and Allie Hackett led the B.A.A. to USATF-NE Half Marathon Championship Team Titles.

The 42nd Annual New Bedford Half Marathon kicked off the 2019 racing season for the B.A.A. Running Club marking the 15th year that the race has hosted the USATF-New England Half Marathon Championships. With many of the B.A.A. runners using the half marathon distance as a tune-up for the Boston Marathon in April, 46 Running Club members competed in the race with several outstanding individual performances and many new personal best times.

Brad Mish was the top finisher of the day for the B.A.A. setting a new personal best time in 1:06:58 earning a runner-up finish place. On chip time, Brad had the win but races are won or loss on gun time and Brad was just 1 second back at the finish line to William Hague of Tracksmith AC. Following in Brad’s footsteps was Eric Ashe finishing third overall in 1:07:06 to give the B.A.A. two spots on the podium. Peter Gilmore improved by ten places and over two minutes faster than 2018 to place 14th overall in 1:09:27. Alex Fitzgerald finished 28th overall in 1:11:01 and David Bedoya placed 38th and won the Masters individual title finishing in 1:11:54. The B.A.A. Men won the team title ahead of Tracksmith AC with Greater Boston Track Club in 3rd place. 

The B.A.A. women showed up in force and dominated the team competition placing 7 in the top 15 with Allie Hackett leading the B.A.A. women with a 4th place finish in 1:16:03. Allie lowered her personal best time in the half marathon from her debut race last fall at the Baystate Half Marathon where she ran 1:17:30 to win the race. Allie’s twin sister Michaela Hackett was next across the line for the women placing 5th overall in her debut half marathon in 1:17:27. The best PB of the day goes to Rachel Coogan who lowered her PB by almost four minutes placing 6th overall in 1:17:39. With a new USATF-NE rule change, the women’s open team now scores the first five runners rather than just three. Lauren Philbrook was the next team scorer for the B.A.A. finishing 7th overall in 1:19:26 and Hannah Rowe placed 9th in 1:20:21. The B.A.A. women won the team title convincingly scoring a net time of 6:30:56 and over twenty-five minutes ahead of the runner-up Whirlaway Racing Team. 

The B.A.A. Women’s Masters mirrored the Women’s Open success by winning the team competition over ten minutes ahead of the runner-up Whirlaway Racing Team. Leading the B.A.A. and winning the Women’s Masters title was Karolyn Bowley finishing 11th overall in 1:21:28 with Kaela O’Neil next across the line for the B.A.A. Masters in 1:25 flat and first in the 40-44 age division. Kate Santoro was the 3rd scorer for the B.A.A. Masters Women finishing in 1:31:48 and second to Kaela in her age division.

The B.A.A. Men’s Masters finished 3rd overall in the team competition led by David Bedoya’s top finish. Other Masters men on the scoring team were Matt Carter (81st, 1:15:01), Patrick Callahan (143rd, 1:19:11), Michael McGrane (160th, 1:20:11), and Paul Davies (177th, 1:21:24). Paul Davies was the top finisher for the B.A.A.’s 50+ team. The B.A.A. Men’s Seniors team placed 9th overall.   

Congrats to the B.A.A. winning teams, top individual places and excellent race performances by the B.A.A. athletes for the first team race of the 2019 season. Well done!

Next up for the B.A.A. will be the second race in the USATF-NE Grand Prix road race series in Upton, MA at the Frank Nealon Boston Tune-up 15K on Saturday, March 30.  The team then looks ahead to the B.A.A. Boston Marathon weekend of races April 13-15.  

For complete results, click below:


See full Team B.A.A. Results below:

2. Brad Mish 1:06:58
3. Eric Ashe 1:07:06
14. Peter Gilmore 1:09:27
28. Alex Fitzgerald 1:11:01
38. David Bedoya 1:11:54
46. Phil Royer 1:12:30
69. Alex Mcgrainer 1:14:09
70. Brent Kocis 1:14:10
73. Andreas Heilmann 1:14:29
80. Patrick MacAdie 1:14:56
81. Matt Carter 1:15:01
96. Allie Hackett 1:16:03
112. Michaela Hackett 1:17:27
115. Rachel Coogan 1:17:39
121. Matthew Morabito 1:17:54
129. JP Gerald 1:18:19
131. Thomas Morley 1:18:25
136. Deniz Karakoyunlu 1:18:47
140. Ben Coughlin 1:18:59
143. Patrick Callahan 1:19:11
146. Tim McFadden 1:19:19
149. Lauren Philbrook 1:19:26
160. Michael McGrane 1:20:11
161. Hannah Rowe 1:20:21
174. TK Skenderian 1:21:13
177. Paul Davies 1:21:24
182. Karolyn Bowley 1:21:28
184. Michael Paulin 1:21:47
186. Emily Giannotti 1:21:53
200. Adam Manewell 1:22:35
216. Kate Gunson 1:23:02
221. Katsuhiro Togami 1:23:17
243. Kevin Hill 1:24:56
246. Kaela O’Neil 1:25:00
259. Katie Misuraca 1:25:47
264. David Consigli 1:25:58
290. Kelley Magill 1:27:27
300. Amanda Watters 1:27:56
372. Bernie Jones 1:31:28
375. Kate Santoro 1:31:48
445. Kyle Bowers 1:34:15
479. Jon Schoenberg 1:36:02
507. Beth Coughlin 1:37:32
545. Suzanne Chaves 1:38:41
740. Julia Joy Morgillo 1:44:23
1424. Harry Carter 2:06:57

Comments are closed.