April 25, 2017 Comments Off on B.A.A. Running Club Competes in the 121st Boston Marathon Featured, News

B.A.A. Running Club Competes in the 121st Boston Marathon

Men win Team Title; Harvey & Duhon produce Top-20 finishes.

For the 120th running of the Boston Marathon, the B.A.A. celebrated 50 years of Women at Boston by honoring Bobbi Gibb’s historic first run in 1966. For the 2017 Boston Marathon, it was Kathrine Switzer’s turn to be recognized for her historic run 50 years ago when she entered the event as K.V. Switzer, to finish the Boston Marathon donning bib number 261. Kathrine Switzer finished the marathon 121st Boston Marathon in a time of 4:44:31 again wearing bib number 261 for the final time. On Tuesday following Marathon Monday, the B.A.A. retired bib number 261 with a ceremony at the Boston Marathon adidas RunBase. Another notable achievement in 2017 was the 50th consecutive Boston Marathon finish by Bennett Beach of Bethesda, Maryland, the first runner to reach the milestone. At age 67, Bennett finished his fiftieth Boston in 5:01:26.

The Elite women began the trek to Boston at 9:32 a.m. followed by the Elite Men and Wave 1 competitors starting at 10:00 a.m. Edna Kiplagat of Kenya broke free of the lead women’s pack early in the Newton Hills and ran solo for the final 10K winning in 2:21:51. For the American women, Jordan Hasay set a record for the fastest debut by an American woman finishing in 3rd place in 2:23 flat followed by Desiree Linden in 4th place. In the Men’s race, a stellar field lined up in Hopkinton including rising U.S. marathon star Galen Rupp, bronze medalist in the Olympic Marathon in Rio last summer. Rupp stayed in the front pack with eyes on an American win at Boston but could not match the finishing speed of Geoffrey Kirui of Kenya on Boylston Street. Kirui won in 2:09:37 with Rupp in second place in 2:09:58.

For the B.A.A. Running Club, the 121st Boston Marathon was all too similar to the weather in 2016. On Marathon Monday, the temperatures reached the mid-sixties by the start and exceeded 70 degrees in Boston at the finish with a mostly sunny sky and a gusty but warm and dry tailwind. Last year, the weather was described as “sneaky warm” catching runners off-guard. With the local weather forecasters heeding warnings for the runners and a record warm Easter Sunday preceding Marathon Monday, the runners threw caution to the wind dialing back the goal pace on Monday.

With the warm forecast in mind, the top B.A.A. men adjusted their goal times and performed well on the home course with Brian Harvey leading the men to a team victory with a 20th place finish in 2:20:18. Harvey was also the top New England male runner. Harvey was followed by training partner Eric Ashe in 2:23:26 in 28th place with Joseph Carpenter as the third B.A.A. finisher to close out the team scoring in 39th place in 2:26:40. The B.A.A. Men’s Open team scored a cumulative time of 7:10:24 nearly twenty minutes ahead of second place GBTC.  In the Masters’ team race, David Bedoya led the B.A.A., finishing in 2:41:44 placing 219th with the consistent performing Patrick Callahan trailing in 2:46:22 (392nd) and a new addition to the club Tim McCormick finishing in 2:57:08 (1088th) to secure a second place team finish.

Running her first Boston Marathon as a member of the B.A.A., Madeline Duhon was looking forward to a fast and cooler marathon day than her previous marathons which were in warm and humid conditions. Last May, Duhon won the Vermont City Marathon on a very warm and humid day finishing in 2:50:07. Just three month prior, Duhon competed in the U.S. Olympic Marathon Trials finishing in 2:45:20 on a record hot day. Despite a warm day on Marathon Monday, it was still better conditions than some of her previous marathons and yielded a new personal best for Duhon who finished in 2:38:44 and a Top 20 finish in 19th overall. Rachel Coogan finished with a new Boston personal best time of 2:51:46 and 41st in the women’s race. In her Boston Marathon debut, Katie Moraczewski placed 72nd overall for the women in 2:57:41 to close out the team scoring for the B.A.A.  In the women’s team competition, the B.A.A. women had to battle some top competitors with the Hansons-Brooks Distance Project running away with the win and setting the all-time fastest performance by a women’s team. The B.A.A. women’s team finished third overall in 8:28:11.

In all, the B.A.A. Running Club had 15 women and 49 men finish the 121st Boston Marathon. Although there were only a few with personal best on the warm day, many had top performances and everyone has a unique personal story of how they finished the 121st Boston Marathon. Congrats to everyone for their Boston Marathon finish!


B.A.A. Team Results:

B.A.A. Men’s Open Team – 1st  7:10:24 (Brian Harvey, Eric Ashe, Joseph Carpenter)
B.A.A. Women’s Open Team – 3rd  8:28:11 (Madeline Duhon, Rachel Coogan, Katie Moraczewski)
B.A.A. Men’s Masters Team – 2nd  8:25:14 (David Bedoya, Patrick Callahan, Tim McCormick)

B.A.A. Running Club Results:

20. Brian Harvey 2:20:18
28. Eric Ashe 2:23:26
39. Joseph Carpenter 2:26:40
48. Matt Fischer 2:28:18
58. Alex Taylor 2:30:19
66. Peter Gilmore 2:31:13
103. Ian Nurse 2:35:41
119. Sean Hyland 2:36:33
158. Madeline Duhon 2:38:44
175. Clayton Pierce 2:39:32
219. David Bedoya 2:41:44
248. Jason Reilly 2:42:43
260. Roger Donaghy 2:43:02
392. Patrick Callahan 2:46:22
400. Hiromasa Aono 2:46:32
461. Ben Coughlin 2:47:42
503. Katsuhiro Togami 2:48:43
570. Deniz Karakoyunlu 2:49:43
680. Rachel Coogan 2:51:46
779. Ryan Silva 2:53:11
996. Mark LaRosa 2:56:06
999. John LaRosa 2:56:07
1078. Shamus Brady 2:57:01
1088. Tim McCormick 2:57:08
1118. Louis Raffetto 2:57:25
1146. Katie Moraczewski 2:57:41
1281. James Callaghan 2:58:45
1312. Chris Benestad 2:58:57
1328. Wayne Levy 2:59:01
1424. Michael McGrane 2:58:46
1470. John Barrett 3:00:11
1491. Adam Manewell 3:00:20
1561. Brian Benestad 3:01:02
1843. Chris Marshall 3:03:36
1849. Adam Sulkowski 3:03:41
1878. Emily Raymond 3:03:54
1927. Doug McLucas 3:04:20
1952. Paul Davies 3:04:31
2240. Lauren Meyer 3:06:34
2392. Kaela O’Neil 3:07:36
3174. Amanda Watters 3:12:10
3312. Stephen Masterson 3:13:05
3526. Paul Morrison 3:14:12
3587. Brian Foley 3:14:34
3807. David Consigli 3:15:44
3818. Brian Murphy 3:15:47
5347. Pam Manley 3:23:18
5811. Rohit Naimpally 3:25:21
5937. Lauren Liuzzo 3:25:48
6086. Lindsay Willard 3:26:20
7380. Kyle Bowers 3:31:22
7703. Jon Schoenberg 3:32:32
8909. Jamie Wilson 3:36:58
9005. Ann Ryan 3:37:18
9695. Ted Norton 3:39:47
10371. Cat Chviruk 3:42:15
11208. Zeus Estrada 3:45:00
12447. Craig MacFarlane 3:49:03
13118. Alex Kolb 3:51:19
13689. Scott Nanfelt 3:53:17
15307. John Stuart 3:58:50
17039. Mae Shoemaker 4:06:45
18400. Karen Ringheiser 4:13:46
24600. Carol Chaoui 5:11:10

Comments are closed.