March 24, 2016 Comments Off on B.A.A. Runners Off to a Fast Start in the First Race of the USATF-NE Grand Prix Road Race Series Featured, News

B.A.A. Runners Off to a Fast Start in the First Race of the USATF-NE Grand Prix Road Race Series

New B.A.A. Runners help elevate the team scoring at the An Ras Mor 5K Championship Race

Early March is typically cold and windy in New England but the sun and warmth greeted the runners in the first race of the 2016 USATF New England Grand Prix Series at the An Ras Mor 5K in Cambridge on Sunday, March 6th. Nearly 40 B.A.A. runners competed in the race with good team and individual performances on a morning with ideal racing conditions. The Somerville Road Runners hosted the event for the second time in three years and set the stage for the year with a large turnout from the New England teams with over 500 USATF members in the competition.

The B.A.A. Men’s Open team was in a tight battle for second place and finished with the exact team scoring time of 1:16:06 with Battle Road Track Club, formerly known as New Balance Boston. With a strong finishing kick, Dan Smith was the 5th man to score for the B.A.A. and was the tie-breaker to move the B.A.A. men into second place ahead of Battle Road Track Club in the USATF-NE team scoring. Brad Mish was the top performer for the B.A.A. men with a Top Ten finish in 8th overall in a very close race where the 5th through 8th runners all finished with the exact same time of 14:51. Louis Serafini from the Heartbreakers was the overall winner taking the championship race in 14:44. Peter Gilmore, who rejoined the B.A.A. Running Club just the week of the race after taking a break from competing, was the next B.A.A. finisher in 12th place overall in 15:04 followed by the B.A.A.’s Mike Galoob in 22nd overall in 15:19 scoring for both the Men’s Open and Masters teams. David Bedoya was 27th in 15:25 followed by Dan Smith in 30th place in 15:27. Central Mass Striders was the first place team by 17 seconds to take an early lead in the USATF-NE Grand Prix Team Competition.

The B.A.A. Men’s Masters started the 2016 season with a win just as they finished the 2015 season beating rival Central Mass Striders. Mike Galoob was the Masters 5K Champion with a convincing win in 15:19 over teammate Chris Magill who was 42nd overall in 15:43. Chris was just one place ahead of new B.A.A. teammate Andy Gardiner in 15:46 who was also first place in the Senior 50+ category.  Andy recently joined the B.A.A. Running Club and will be a valuable team scorer for the B.A.A. Masters team this year. Harry Stants (72nd/16:22) and Doug McLucas (99th/16:49) were the 4th and 5th scorers for the B.A.A. Masters team.

Led by Andy Gardiner’s top performance, the Men’s Senior 50+ team placed 2nd overall behind Whirlaway Racing Team. Wayne Levy was the next Senior finisher for the B.A.A. in 155th overall in 17:34 followed by Christopher Lawrence (165th/17:41), Andy MacDonald (294th/19:41) and David Consigli (323rd/19:58). In the 70 and over category, Harry Carter was 3rd overall with a time of 23:33.

The B.A.A. Women placed 6th overall in the Open team scoring led by new B.A.A. club member Rachel Coogan. Rachel was 9th overall with a time of 17:46 which was a personal best 5K time by 49 seconds. Ravenna Neville returned to racing after some time off and opened up with an 18:02 rust-buster effort placing 20th overall. Mimi Fallon was the top Senior in 18:47 placing 33rd overall followed by Amanda Watters (43rd/19:02) and Kristin Shaw (80th/20:17) as the 4th and 5th scorers for the B.A.A. Women’s Team.

Next up in the USATF-NE Grand Prix Road Race Series is the New Bedford Half Marathon on Sunday, March 20th where many of the Unicorns will be racing the half marathon as a tune-up for the 120th Boston Marathon just over one month away!

Click here for complete the An Ras Mor 5K team and individual results.

B.A.A. Running Club finishers (by Net Time)

  1. Brad Mish 14:50
  2. Peter Gilmore 15:03
  3. Mike Galoob 15:16
  4. David Bedoya 15:24
  5. Dan Smith 15:26
  6. Chris Magill 15:43
  7. Andy Gardiner 15:45
  8. Dave Brooks 15:55
  9. Jason Reilly 15:56
  10. Ben Coughlin 16:13
  11. Harry Stants 16:20
  12. Andreas Heilmann 16:38
  13. Matthew Simonson 16:49
  14. Lindsay Smith 16:52
  15. Ryan Davenport 16:53
  16. Matt Herman 16:59
  17. Jason Porter 17:12
  18. Wayne Levy 17:34
  19. Michael McGrane 17:40
  20. Christopher Lawrence 17:41
  21. Rachel Coogan 17:43
  22. Chris George 17:51
  23. Ravenna Neville 18:02
  24. Paul Davies 18:15
  25. Mimi Fallon 18:45
  26. Stef Harvey 18:58
  27. Amanda Watters 18:59
  28. Amanda Potter 19:15
  29. Andy MacDonald 19:28
  30. David Consigli 19:55
  31. Jamie Wilson 20:05
  32. Kristin Shaw 20:13
  33. Suzanne Chaves 20:14
  34. Ann Ryan 20:20
  35. Dave Menard 21:07
  36. John Stuart 21:22
  37. Jim Thompson 22:51
  38. Harry Carter 23:33

Comments are closed.